Faith is evidence that what you believe will happen.

Whoa. “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” NASB Hebrews 11:1

“Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.” NLT Hebrews 11:1

Faith assures us, it’s like proof that what we don’t see is real/will happen. Like a special knowledge paired with belief.

Hebrews 4:2 For indeed we have had good news preached to us, just as they also; but the word they heard did not profit them, because it was not united by faith in those who heard.”

The word they heard did not profit them, because it was not united by faith in those who heard.”

Faith completes the word of God. Phew. Faith completes the word of God. Faith completes the word God speaks to me about my life. About others. Faith completes the word of God.

Faith gives life to God’s word in your heart.

Faith is proof. Wow.

The world/many of us Christians see faith as hope or belief in God. But this is way bigger. Faith is the proof of what you believe. How can I wrap my head around this??

1 Peter 1:5

And through your faith, God is protecting you by his power until you receive this salvation, which is ready to be revealed on the last day for all to see.”

Well faith is also those things too—belief in God, trust in God, belief that He will do what He set out to do, but when we have faith– the spirit filled faith– that’s the proof we need in order to believe that something will happen—the proof that what He said is going to happen is going to happen.

Like when I was praying about going to India. I wasn’t really sure, I didn’t have the faith that God was calling me to go, so I kept entrusting it to Him, that He would tell me. He told me by giving me an extra “measure of faith” –

Romans 12:3 “God has allotted to each a measure of faith.”

And that was the proof in my heart that God had certainly called me to go!! I had lots and lots faith.

Faith Grows: “as your faith grows” 2 Corinthians 10:15

Faith can also run dry. We need God to give us more and more faith –as the proof that He is working, He is answering our prayers. We need conviction that what we have prayed for is going to happen. We need proof, Lord!

2 Corinthians 10:17 So faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ.”

So what builds up my faith? HEARING THE WORD OF CHRIST.

And when I hear His word, I receive faith to believe it…and faith united with the word brings profit (the promise into fulfillment)!! (see Hebrews 4:2 – “but the word they heard did not profit them because it was not united by faith in those who heard.”)

Let us be faithful to ask God for more faith!!

Luke 17:5 The apostles said to the Lord,Increase our faith!””

Luke 17:5 NLT The apostles said to the Lord, “Show us how to increase our faith.”


So who is responsible for increasing our faith??

AMP–

The apostles said to the Lord, Increase our faith (that trust and confidence that spring from our belief in God).”

Oooo I like that definition of faith: “trust and confidence that spring from our belief in God.”

The Lord also stirs up faith, He did to me last week when I was pondering something I love to do and wondering if I’ll ever have the chance to do it again. I was filled with joy and faith that no matter what happens on earth (whether I have the chance here to do it again or not) I will be able to sing harmoniously and make beautiful, breathtaking music with a beautiful choir in heaven because He has given me that gift of song!! Oh, I can’t wait! And now I feel like I may have the opportunity again while on the earth, too. Thank You for fresh faith, Lord!

I can’t make myself have faith. The word of God brings faith. That’s a powerful word right there.

But, although I can’t make myself have faith, I can certainly make myself hear the word of God!! lol! Especially if we have it memorized and we quote it! Then our hearts and minds “hear” the word of God, and come into alignment with it, uniting the word with FAITH

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Faith part 2!

Leave your mark!

