[I feel like I titled a post the same title a while ago! haha, I did! It’s here. This is definitely something God is highlighting to me in this season of my life. Being real.]

This morning I read a blog that challenged me to read Matthew 5,6,7 every day during the month of October. While I can’t promise that I’ll do that, (remember, I’m freeing myself from man-made rules that block me in–see this post and remember Galatians 5:1 “It was for freedom that Christ set us free, therefore keep standing firm and do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery“) I did decide to read it today. But I only got to verses 14, 15, and 16…

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see our good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” 

In the past I have read this simply as showing everyone that you are a Christian, however that might look. Today the Holy Spirit spoke differently.

Today here is how I understood what Jesus was saying.

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand.

I am the light of the world. I am a city on a hill. I am a lamp.
I can’t be hidden. But I try to hide myself.  I should not be put under a basket. But I try to anyway. I hide my feelings, because I’m scared of what others will think of them. Or because I know I shouldn’t feel them. I try to hide from God. But I’m finding that the more I reveal myself, the more I feel known.

Father, help me to let my light shine before men in such a way that they may glorify You. Lord I’m tired of trying to hide. It creates more problems. I know that “there is nothing concealed that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known” (Matthew 10:26). Make me open, see-through and vulnerable. May I let my light shine! I want to be known as You know me, I want to know myself and recognize my own faults, mistakes and talents and gifts! Make me quick to repent and make it easy for me to say exactly what I’m feeling without fear of judgment from You or from others. May I be confident and let that light shine so others may glorify You! I am open and laid bare before You. Be glorified God, make me honest about all I fear and all I feel. Thank You Jesus for tearing the veil between the Father and us. Tear down the walls that separate me from others, too! Thank You Lord! In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Psalm 38:9
Lord, all my desire is before You; And my sighing is not hidden from You.

Hebrews 4:13
And there is no creature hidden from His sight, but all things are open and laid bare to the eyes of Him with whom we have to do.”

Psalm 69:5
O God, it is You who knows my folly, And my wrongs are not hidden from You.”

Luke 12:3
Accordingly, whatever you have said in the dark will be heard in the light, and what you have whispered in the inner rooms will be proclaimed upon the housetops.”

Hallelujah. I am free to be me!

5 thoughts on “Be yourself.

  1. Jenn,
    I love this. First the Lord used your comment about freedom in my heart immediately when i got the email of this post, before i had time to read the whole post.
    Next on the light of the world passage, so good – right on point! I just wrote about this a couple weeks ago, and thought through it for weeks before that, and yet – here is another wonderful truth from the same words. How i Love Jesus!

    Thanks – this is really great.

    Ben

    1. I’m so glad it blessed you too. I noticed you were writing on the sermon on the mount too! I should go search out your post, how funny that you wrote something similar! God speaks to His Church about the same thing 🙂 I have not as much time to read these days…our baby girl is almost a year old!!

Leave your mark!

