“Suddenly, in mid-prayer, I felt compelled not to say another word. I felt drawn instead to reflect silently on the assumptions hiding underneath my prayers. What did they tell me that I really believed about God and His desire to act? What did they reveal about how I thought God was hearing my prayers at that very moment?” – Bruce Wilkinson, in You Were Born for This

I remember another time I was trying to pray…trying to read the Bible…but all I kept feeling God say was, “Rest. Stop. Rest. No. Don’t pray. Don’t read. Just be there.”

And then He gave me a vision of a friend that then I was compelled to contact and it changed my summer!

Has anything like this happened to you?

Psalm 46:10
Be still and know that I am God.” 🙂

4 thoughts on “Has God ever drawn you to silence?

  1. Sometimes our prayer posture needs to be one of silence in order to hear God speaking to us. In his book “The Walk” Michael Card puts it this way, “We all have friends who dominate the conversation. Are we that sort of friend to God? Who has more worthwhile things to say?”

Leave your mark!

