Phew, I’ve been flighty recently! Not posting much. I could say a lot has been going on…but I don’t really think it has 🙂

Has anyone out there ever considered community living? Like when you were in college and you shared dining spaces and common areas like lounges? This is a dream of mine and Rick’s. We want to live with other people! We would love to have a college house where college students can live and hang out with us older family people. We want to share household chores, dinners, dishes, love, and fun! The opportunity to do something like this with a relative of ours came up last week. Both Rick and I heard God telling us to go for it and ask the person if she would like to get a place with us. So, very excitedly, we asked her.

She said yes!

All week long I’ve been thinking and dreaming and wondering when and how it will all turn out. So very excitedly praying that God will prepare a place for us, etc.

And then last night…I got word that she changed her mind.

Total bummer.

I have this problem with disappointment. I didn’t even know how to react. I just kind of sat down quietly on the bed and sighed. I wasn’t mad, just sad. Looking to God, I thought of reading Psalm 37:5. (I don’t even know what that verse is off the top of my head, but for some reason I thought it was a good one to think of! ha!) So I went to turn on my Bible app, only to find a Bible verse already opened.

Psalm 27:14
Wait for the Lord; 

Be strong and let your heart take courage;
Yes, wait for the Lord.

God spoke to me.

I don’t know why He told us to ask her. I don’t know why we got so excited only to be let down. I don’t know why she said yes if she really meant no. But the thing is, God is still in charge. And if I say that I love & trust Him with my whole life, then I suppose this little incident is included. He knows what’s going to happen.

So I will wait for the Lord. I will be strong, and my heart will take courage. Yes, I will wait for the Lord!

[oh, and PS. Here is Psalm 37:5, since I decided to look it up: 
Commit your way to the Lord,
Trust also in Him, and He will do it.
Oh yes. Definitely perfect, thank You Jesus. And I received this prophetic word today too! Also applicable, thank You Jesus! “Absolute Assurance. TRUST.” 🙂 ]
5 thoughts on “Long time no see!

  1. Sounds like a 2nd chapter of Acts church you guys are seeking. Realize that this is a paradigm shift for people to grasp. It is not easy when we are raised in a society where we’re taught from birth to get all we can and can all we get. This lifestyle runs contrary to human nature. Living in an Acts 2 setting with no one calling anything their own would definitely be a working of the Holy Spirit. If this is where the Lord is leading you, then you are fighting against approximately 1700 years of tradition which does not go away easily. But again, if this is where the Lord is leading you, stay the course. It sounds like you and your husband, like Peter have been called out of the boat and are being told by the Lord to come stand with Him on the water where the only thing that keeps you fom drowning in the word He gave you and upon which you are standing.

    1. Yes, Tony! That’s exactly it! I can’t wait to see what happens in the future when He does it with us! It is definitely tough, but I think it will be worth it!! Thank you for your encouragement!

Leave your mark!

