The Lord has had me thinking about freedom.
So I asked my husband if we could start reading Galatians together.
It’s been fabulous so far. Even provoked a faith discussion!

It’s totally all about FAITH.

Galatians 3:22
…so we receive God’s promise of freedom only by believing in Jesus Christ.”

Only.by.believing.

We like to add a lot of “shoulds” to our lives.

“I should read the Bible more…”

“I should tithe more…”

“I should pray more…”

First of all, if you really ‘should’ do these things…do them, for goodness sake!

But, as the word says, “You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.”” (2 Corinthians 9:7)

I’m so done with shoulds. I hate that I subject myself to them ALL THE TIME!! Why do I love to make laws for myself?! For example, “Oh…before I do this [ex.rest] I need to do that.” Ugh! I even found in an old journal recently that I had realized that in the past too!

And what is up with other people trying to steal away the freedom that you have in Christ? Freedom to dance, sing, laugh, enjoy yourself during church, for example. We read this in Galatians the other day, “some so-called Christians there-false ones really- who were secretly brought in. They sneaked in to spy on us and take away the freedom we have in Christ Jesus. They wanted to enslave us and force us to follow their Jewish regulations.” (Galatians 2:4).

Has this ever happened to you??

Seriously, I have to be taught HOW to stop making laws for myself.

Here’s some other examples:

  • Being on a Bible reading plan can become all about law…for example, if you miss a day, do you feel guilty? Strained to catch up? Forget it! Just move on! We have freedom in Christ. God’s not mad at us, and He’s especially not mad at us for missing a day of Bible reading!! Our lives are much more than reading. They are LIVING! (James 1:22 “But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves.”) Yes, you need to know the word, but not by becoming a slave to a reading plan! Have grace for yourself. 🙂
  • Doing housework
  • Sticking to a budget
  • Sticking to a schedule
  • tithing (10%)

All these can be great things! But all of them have the potential for a grace mix-up. A forgotten grace. Go easy on yourself!

Galatians 5:1 NLT
“So Christ has truly set us free. Now make sure you stay free, and don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law.

and this…

Galatians 5:1 NASB
It was for freedom that Christ set us FREE!!!!!….

He didn’t set us free to become slaves again! (Although He does say that we have become slaves to righteousness–but that is because Christ lives inside of us!)

His freedom…wow. Just think about/ask God about the areas of your life that you have been clinging to some law. Throw it out!

Live in His freedom.

It’s rich!

8 thoughts on “Freedom!

  1. I think the freedom that only God can give us is the way he blends truth (laws that let us know how sinful and in need of judgment we are) and grace (he loves us and provides a way out of judgment–faith). We have as much trouble mixing truth and grace and we do mixing oil and water. Only God can do that. Only God can give us this freedom.

  2. When reading your post it reminded me of a vision that the Lord showed me concerning religion .

    The Prison of Religion

    On January 11, 2010 I had a vision. In the vision I saw a prison and all the prison doors had been opened and the prisoners chains had been loosed and each of the prisoners were standing at the entrances of their individual cells. However, they were frightened to venture out for fear of being thrown back into the cell again and having the door shut. This is because they had been deceived by the spirit of religion into believing that the one who came to set the captive free, Jesus, was in fact, their jailer. What a horrible view of a loving savior and yet it is a view many hold onto.

    1. Oh my goodness, YES! Exactly. Wow, thank you for sharing that, how encouraging. It’s true, religion is such a prison. Fear holds me back all the time. 😦 But Jesus set me free, so I will not be subject again to a yoke of slavery, in Jesus’ Name!

Leave your mark!

