Hi all!

“How can I hear from God?”

“Read the Bible!”

So, yes, I’m stating the obvious. But have you ever done something that you just felt was wrong, but you couldn’t really prove that it was? And then you opened your Bible and *bam* His word hits you square between the eyes?!

Paul said this: (Romans 3:20)
through the Law comes the knowledge of sin.”

Although we may feel guilty about something, sometimes we have nothing to base our guilt upon. We don’t see how it was a sin, but we still felt that it was wrong. Through the Law comes the knowledge of sin.

–That’s all for today! I’m off to date night! May He bless you!

7 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tips: Reading the Bible:Leading to Repentance

  1. hmm. the bible is not the Law.

    for unbelievers, the Holy Spirit convicts them of the sin of unbelief.
    for believers, the Holy Spirit convicts them of righteousness.

    1. Welcome to the blog, savedbygrace! Thank you for your comment.

      You are right in saying that the Bible is not the Law. But part of it is! When I wrote this, I did pause when I used the verse that spoke of “the Law” and considered the same thing. But, the Law of the Old Testament (10 Commandments, etc) does definitely show us the way of righteousness. We could not achieve that righteousness on our own, so Jesus has become righteousness for us. However, I have been convicted many times when I opened the Word and found a passage that spoke about something I had just done. For example:

      Psalm 50:20
      ” “You sit and speak against your brother; You slander your own mother’s son.”

      The day before, I had been speaking against my brother, slandering my own mother’s son! Had I not opened to that Scripture, I may not have been led to repentance and reconciliation. God convicts us of sin, and one way He does that is through His word. As it is written, “All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness;” (1 Timothy 3:16). The Old Testament is also for training in righteousness.

      Thanks again for your comment. It was important for me to clarify. God bless you!

      1. awesome! thank you for the sweet reply. bless ya sister

        yes very true. the Law is found in the bible. but the bible is not a law or moral compass to follow. 🙂 the bible is about Jesus. it only points to Christ. It is God’s Son photo album.
        ……………………………..

        the Holy Spirit does not convict believers of sin.

        “And when he is come, he will reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment …..
        Of righteousness, because I go to my Father, and ye see me no more” – John 16:8-10

        we know very well when we fail. our concsience tells us. that conscience is the result of the eaten fruit of the tree of knowledge of good and evil.

        the Holy Spirit does not convict us believers of sin. rather the holy Spirit convicts us of righteosness.

        I agree with you regarding your brother. but it is our concsience telling us. bothering us. the Law is written in our hearts and minds.

        “They show that the requirements of the law are written on their hearts, their consciences also bearing witness, and their thoughts sometimes accusing them and at other times even defending them”
        – Romans 2:14-15
        ————–

        amen indeed. when Paul wrote that letter to Timothy, there is no new testament yet. so Paul was indeed referring to the old.

        wow.. i made a long comment… sorry

        i didn’t mean to sound argumentative. please forgive me if i just did. 🙂

        i know what i said is something new to your ear, but they are in the scripture please dont take it from me, take it from your study.

        be blessed

        – grace and peace

      2. savedbygrace,
        I checked out your website. I enjoyed what you have written 🙂

        Like you said, this is truly new to my ear. My understanding has always been that He convicts me of righteousness, judgment AND sin. But you have pointed out that conviction of sin is mentioned in context in verse 9 with unbelievers and the Holy Spirit would guide the disciples into righteousness. Hmm.

        I’m glad you brought this up. It is puzzling.

        I have also been thinking about my conscience lately too, so this is an interesting addition to ponder and ask Him about. There are a lot of Scriptures about conscience and I think for a long time I did not understand that my conscience is important in my ability to recognize when something is wrong or off.

        I also do not mean to be argumentative. I really do appreciate this conversation and I have no negative feelings toward you at all. Thank you for taking part in it with me! I will be searching the Scriptures and asking the Spirit. I am still inclined to think that He does convict of sin. The tip of the iceberg has just been hit! You have inspired me to search the topic out. Thank you!

Leave your mark!

