First, I just want to say how GLAD I am that Jesus has promised us that He will speak to us, that we CAN hear His voice. What a precious gift!

Man shall not live by bread alone, but on every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God.” (Matthew 4:4)

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.” (John 10:27)

If we couldn’t hear His voice, how on earth could we possibly follow Him? It’s so amazing that He has promised to speak to us and direct us and lead us!

Psalm 32:8 “I will instruct you and teach you in the way which you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.

So today’s tip is about paying attention to what crosses your mind when you are asking God a question. For example, today I was asking Him about someone, seeing if He had anything to say about this person that would bless them. (This is one type of prophecy.) Very, very faintly, as faint as a memory coming to my mind, I saw my baby lying on the floor, removing a blanket from over her face.

I was actually ministering with a team, so the next person picked up from there. But what I thought of with this “vision” (yes, I would call this memory crossing my mind a “vision”) was a Scripture. (This is SO important any time you are hearing from the Lord. Knowing the Bible is so important because He will commonly draw my mind to a verse or a passage in order to explain what you see.)

So, what I thought of with this image of my baby taking a blanket off of her face was that in taking it off, she could see. Here are some of the verses I think of when I think of something being removed:

Matthew 27:51
And behold, the veil of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom; and the earth shook and the rocks were split.”

2 Corinthians 4:3-5
 “And even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing, in whose case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelieving so that they might not see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.”

2 Corinthians 3:16
…but whenever a person turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.”

The first verse is referring to what happened as Jesus died on the cross–the veil that separated the outer courts from the Holy of Holies was broken–and now we can draw near to God–there is nothing that separates us any longer!! (Praise GOD!) We now have access to His throne of grace– “Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need” (Hebrews 4:16). The second and third verses may actually be more applicable. Paul was talking about removing the veil that satan has blinded us with as the god of this world, but when we receive salvation, “the veil is taken away.”

Jesus spoke in parables often in the Bible–why would He not do so now too? When His disciples asked Him why He spoke in parables, this is what He said:

And the disciples came and said to Him, “Why do You speak to them in parables?” Jesus answered them, “To you it has been granted to know the mysteries of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it has not been granted. For whoever has, to him more shall be given, and he will have an abundance; but whoever does not have, even what he has shall be taken away from him. Therefore I speak to them in parables; because while seeing they do not see, and while hearing they do not hear, nor do they understand…But blessed are your eyes, because they see; and your ears, because they hear.” (Matthew 13:10-13, 16)

Jesus told parables to prevent people from understanding! He told them stories they could relate to, but they had trouble understanding the spiritual meanings. So God speaks to us through what we know. I know my baby, I know how she takes blankets off of her face now. But only the spiritual will be able to figure out what He means, because “everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened” (Matthew 7:8) So He brought the memory of my baby taking the blanket off her face and used that to remind me of His Word, because I have sought Him and come to know His word. It’s so cool!

So to summarize, when you randomly think of something (seriously this probably happens way more than you know it does! And it’s probably God speaking more often than you think! ) Romans 12:6 says, “Since we have gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, each of us is to exercise them accordingly: if prophecy, according to the proportion of his faith;“. ask God to increase your faith, because the more faith you have, the more you will trust that it IS Him speaking to you in this way and so many others!

He is so awesome!!!

Leave your mark!

