As I said in a previous post, I like to set a timer when I sit down and spend time with the Lord. It probably sounds cheesy at first glance, or maybe even presumptuous to think that God would speak when I give Him limits, yet it’s probably the most awesome thing I’ve ever done in making time for God. What I mean is, setting a timer for ten minutes reminds me that yes, I do have time for Him. (Even if it’s only ten minutes!) And I’ve learned that wow, God sure has a lot to say when I give Him just a few minutes! I usually end up with pages of Scripture written down in my prayer journal just from the first five minutes! It seriously has proven to be an awesome practice- setting the timer to listen. And ten minutes is really just the starting point. As I mentioned in that same post, the time I spend sitting at His feet more often than not ends up being closer to 20 or 30 minutes! (That is,…if the baby is still sleeping!)

So, my tip today is get a journal. Okay, so many of you reading this are already writers, and that probably means you have your fair share of journals. But, then again, maybe not. So, today’s tip is to WRITE IT DOWN.

A few days ago, I was reviewing a time of ministry that I had with someone. I was on the receiving end of ministry/prayers/prophecy, and it was a great time. However, it was done in a chat room and I honestly didn’t have much time to think about what was said, because immediately after it was over, my husband came home and it was time for dinner. But for some reason, a couple of days ago, I decided to re-look at the time of ministry. (Thank God I saved it!) As I read through it, the Lord highlighted a few very key words to me. There was even a parable that He spoke through, using that same key word! I later remembered a dream I had in 2007, and it pertained to the exact same thing!

I was amazed.

In the Bible, Timothy received prophecies, presumably about His calling. Paul told him:

This command I entrust to you, Timothy, my son, in accordance with the prophecies previously made concerning you, that by them you fight the good fight” (1 Timothy 1:18)

In following his example, I recommend that whenever you hear God’s voice, or when someone else tells you they heard God’s voice for you, write it down. Here are some reasons why:

  • It’s encouraging for you.
  • We see in part and we prophesy in part. (1 Corinthians 13:9) In other words, when you receive something from the Lord, whether it’s in a dream, or through another person, it is not always complete–one prophecy will not give you the big picture. Only God knows exactly what He has prepared for you, and He is likely going to reveal it over the years. For example, God told Moses to lead the people out of Egypt. Where was he going to take them? Moses had no idea. But God knew, and He revealed it step by step as they followed Him daily, whether He was in the shape of a cloud or fire.
  • You never know when you might flip through that journal and read something He spoke years ago that is suddenly relevant for your current situation too!
  • It definitely helps us fight the good fight of faith (as Paul told Timothy!) Revewing what God has told me in the past gives me faith for the future.
  • We forget! What good is it to hear God’s words once but then forget them? Honestly, if I didn’t write them down, I would have no recollection of what He told me in the past. At the very least, write it down because you will forget SOME of it.

I can’t believe I’m almost done with my 59th prayer journal. I mean…what? I really write that much?? If you know me in person, you know I’ll never been seen without my journal 🙂 There’s ALWAYS something to write!

Leave your mark!

