This is kind of a tag-a-long post that I first put at the end of Thursday’s post, but decided it was too long. I just don’t like long blogs! I prefer short snip-its. Is anyone with me?!

Anyway. I wrote about God providing for our needs. But as I continued in my study, I found that not only does God provide for our needs, He links our needs with the needs of others. For example…

Philippians 4:19
And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

The interesting thing about this verse is that it doesn’t stand alone. It’s not just that God is going to supply for your needs. The context of this verse is actually about giving money to Paul for missions–Paul told them “my God will supply all your needs…” right after he thanked them for being generous to him. So the fact that the Philippians gave to Paul’s work brought them what they needed too. There are other verses about this.

Matthew 5:42
Give to him who asks of you, and do not turn away from him who wants to borrow from you.

Giving to others and receiving His help for tomorrow seem to be completely intertwined. Luke 6:38, for example:

Give and it will be given to you.

I’m realizing that I need to have a generous perspective. It’s intertwined with what I receive from the Lord!! Whoa.

Luke 6:30
Give to EVERYONE who asks of you…

EVERYONE THAT ASKS?

That’s a lot of people/organizations. It’s so easy to think of excuses, or reasons why we shouldn’t give to THAT person or that “bum”. It’s so hard to just obey what Jesus said here instead of saying, “Oh…I don’t think Jesus meant THAT guy!”

But it’s a give and take.

I was so convicted when the Lord showed me this. He says, “If you love Me, you will obey My commandments.” (John 14:15). What exactly DID Jesus command?

I think that’s going to be my next research/study!

Anyway, that’s what He is speaking to me.  He has RICHES to share. He gives them to us to share. When we share, He gives us more. It’s even like parable of the talents–those who doubled the amount they were given then received more. The one dude who hid his money in the ground had that taken away from him! Wow. There is so much in Scripture about this.

I’m being transformed. I want to share what He has given me with those who need it, and then He will provide for me too! How beautiful!

Leave your mark!

