Lately the Lord has been directing me to a different mindset concerning money. Rick & I have kept a semi-strict budget for a few months now, since we know what his monthly income is from his employment but we don’t know exactly what to expect from his self-employment. Every month varies. For two years now, I’ve kept an extra strict budget on groceries. Don’t ask me why, but I always made sure to have it be under $50 a week. Some of you might be like, “Uh…how on earth is that possible?!” Well, it is only for two people…however, I have finally come to the realization that trying to keep it under $50 is just plain foolish! Because, although the meals may look good on paper, the reality is that we get hungry at other times (snacks, etc)! (…Especially Rick! lol) I’ve been trying to avoid this reality by only having “enough” in the house. Which ends up not being enough and then we either have to go to the store or we get lazy and scrape something up from scraps. Okay, it’s definitely not as bad as I’m making it out to sound here, but I think you get the point.

I had become so legalistic about making sure to only spend $50 or less that it has become a problem. And God has pointed this out. Why have I been having this stingy mindset, acting like we’re poor?! We’re not poor! We have money to buy food. More than enough. So anyway, this was just the first step to what God started showing me.

Two years ago, Rick was on full time self-employment. That means we had no idea where our money would come from next. This was an awesome opportunity to learn that God supplies for our every need. It was definitely a very stretching time. But, every single time, God provided exactly the amount of money or food that we needed–through work, through friends, through surprise checks in the mail. (Actually, that last one never happened to us, but we know two couples for which it did!)

But somehow, since he got this full time job, I started relying more on that job for income instead of on the Lord. And I have been ever since. So I started realizing this in the past week. And then the Bible verses began showing up!

For example, I have been walking by SIGHT instead of by FAITH, even though He tells us the opposite:

2 Corinthians 5:7
For we walk by faith and not by sight.”

The money I SEE is what I’ve been counting on. Not on the money-Giver. Not trusting in the words He said.

These words that Jesus spoke:
For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things, for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” Matthew 6:32-33.

In the context, the things that God is promising us are:

  • food
  • drink
  • clothes

Matthew 6:34
So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for istelf. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

I have totally been worried about tomorrow. For me, “tomorrow” is the next bill, it is buying clothes and buying shoes because I need news ones. But if He promised food, drink and clothing, then we WILL have enough. And MORE than enough, since He can do abundantly more than we ask or imagine. (Ephesians 3:20).  I’m trusting God that we will!! He says to trust Him with TOMORROW. Because today has enough trouble. How many times have I heard this? No matter how many times I hear this awesome passage, I’m blessed anew. He knows all I need, and He’s going to provide it! YAY! 🙂

Philippians 4:19
And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

What is He telling you?

3 thoughts on “Hearing God’s Voice: Living in His Abundance

  1. Here is another one for you. Don’t worry about the small things. Just keep looking to Him during this time.

    Blessings.

    Psalm 37:25 (Amplified Bible)

    25I have been young and now am old, yet have I not seen the [uncompromisingly] righteous forsaken or their seed begging bread.

Leave your mark!

