Today I felt led to read 1 Peter 3. So, I did. 🙂

1 Peter 3:13 asks, “Who is there to harm you if you prove zealous for what is good?” Then Peter went on to say that sometimes we are treated wrongly when we act in righteousness, but it’s “better to suffer for doing what is right rather than for doing what is wrong.”  As I read this, I reflected a bit on more of Francis Chan’s book, “Forgotten God.”

Francis talked about people attempting to dissuade you from doing what you know is right. Usually this is because we are a selfish people, always looking out for how we can benefit ourselves, and we even lead other Christians into thinking this way, instead of emptying ourselves for the sake of the needs of others.

Yet Scripture is very clear on this:

Philippians 2:3
Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind regard one another as more important than yourselves…”

So, for example, Francis Chan explains in his book that he decided to give all of his royalties from his other book, “Crazy Love” to a fund that feeds and blesses the sick, hungry, impoverished people and people involved in the sex trade. He says,

“People told us that we were being foolish and irresponsible with the gifts God gave us. They said we should have at least put some away in case of an emergency...is it only an emergency if it affects me and my immediate family?”

Whoa. This just about blew me away. Why is it that we are so prone to say YES to doing things for ourselves but so prone to say NO to others who need it?

The question should not be, “Is it best for me?” or “Isn’t it going to be uncomfortable?” or even, “Can we afford this?” Instead, it should be, “Am I following what the Lord is calling me to do?” “Am I being obedient to His voice in Scripture?” Remember that Jesus is going to separate the sheep from the goats–the sheep fed the hungry, clothed the naked, gave drink to the thirsty, visited the prison inmates, went to see sick people, and gave strangers a place to stay. The sheep inherit the kingdom prepared for them from the foundation of the world. (See Matthew 25:34-38)

So what is it that the Lord is asking you to do for Him that you are perceiving to be “too hard” for you to do? What is that thing that you’ve been thinking about but you are too afraid to do it?
That thing that has been on your mind but you think it’s crazy to consider that God is calling you to do it?

For me, it would be inviting strangers in and giving them a place to stay. He has opened my heart to do this–at least I hope to do this–with foster care. But I want to be willing to do it with any age, any background. Anyone to whom the Lord calls me to minister to in my own home, I want to do it!

So if you’ve got time, please answer one of these questions. (Or both!)

  1. What calling from the Lord would be the hardest for you to obey at this time in your life? 
  2. What do you sense the Lord calling you to do that you’re afraid you can’t because
    a. It seems impossible
    b. It’s scary
    c. You don’t have the money
    d. You seriously don’t want to!

I would love to hear from you for this friends & family Friday.  Let’s have a great discussion!

With love,
Jen

One thought on “What do you think?

  1. There is things that I have been afraid of doing (i.e. going back to counseling or even standing up for myself). But with your assurance and letting me know that God put these thoughts in my head then I am going to try and do that. Thanks for the motivation and encouragement, Jen, I love you!!!

Leave your mark!

