Hi folks 🙂 I’ve got another new category. (It’s so beneficial for me to put things into categories!) Every Tuesday I hope to give you some sort of “tip” (idea) for how to recognize God’s voice and help you grow closer to Him in your life, instead of what we usually hear “Just pray and read your Bible!”

Today’s Tip for Time with God

Have you ever been thinking, reading, praying, or just doing whatever when you suddenly think of a verse from the Bible? When this happens to me, I find that God is trying to tell me something from that passage…but I don’t remember the entire passage. So often, I think, “Oh, I know just what that’s about. I know that already, Lord! What does that have to do with anything?”

The times that I’ve ignored the thought of that particular Bible verse have never profited me. (Not a surprise!)

But when I’ve chosen to go and read the chapter that that phrase is in, I have found that He speaks directly to what I was thinking about! And then my relationship grows with Him because I’ve heard His voice. Not only that, but it’s beneficial because then I have direction or the wisdom or the answer I was looking for! This happens to me a lot. I love reading what the verse actually says instead of what I think I remember!

So what’s my point?

If you think of a biblical phrase and you think you remember it perfectly, don’t let that be the end. Instead, grab the closest Bible, Bible app, or go to http://www.biblegateway.com, find that phrase and read the whole chapter, seeking what God wants to say!

Psalm 119:105
Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.”

Psalm 18:28
“For You light my lamp; The LORD my God illumines my darkness.” 

Proverbs 3:6
In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight.

He won’t steer you wrong.  There is always more to discover! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Tips:Phrases from the Bible…

Leave your mark!

