Lately, especially after I realized my mothering blunders (only 5 months being a mommy and already I have totally messed up!) I have been praying that God would reverse whatever ill effects my daughter may have because of my mistakes. This morning I sat down to spend some time in God’s presence and this is what transpired.

I saw a donut, and my mind zeroed in on the hole.
I heard the Lord say, “Restore what was stolen.”

I thought about donuts, and how the center is “stolen” from them in order to make the hole.
(Later, those centers are called “Donut holes” and sold in their own packages! I’m sure you know what I’m talking about!)

I felt the Lord nudge me into understanding.

This donut and the hole symbolize motherhood. A mother gives birth to a baby, (once part of her own body). Then the baby is separate.

Today, to me, the Lord was saying that He will restore what was stolen from me as a result of following a crooked path of parenting. He will bring fresh joy, love and self-sacrifice to make our relationship (me & Lila) WHOLE. (Without a hole!)

I also knew the Lord was saying that because He is restoring what was stolen because of my own mistakes, both our mother-daughter relationship and her body/mind/spirit will have no lasting effects!

Praise God!

Seriously, this is such a relief! I love sitting down with God and then He tells me exactly what I need to hear. I wasn’t thinking about it in that moment, but He knew what had been on my heart. 

We don’t have to tell God what we’re worried about before we hear Him show us what He is doing! That’s why we practice “casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7). 

  • Job 42:10
    “The LORD restored the fortunes of Job…”
  • Joel 2:25
    Then I will make up to you for the years that the swarming locust has eaten, the creeping locust, the stripping locust and the gnawing locust.”

 When you confess and repent, changing your evil ways, He will not leave you to sit and wallow in your mistakes. He is faithful to restore! 

Leave your mark!

