A couple nights ago, my husband repented of a sin that I hadn’t known about. It was a very powerful evening, as he confessed in front of two friends visiting from out of state. It was very overwhelming to me, and I didn’t know how in the world to respond.

The next morning, we read the Proverb of the day: Proverbs 3:5-6. These verses suddenly took on a whole new meaning.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.”

If you are anything like me, you probably already had understanding of this verse. Even when I studied it in depth, the meaning remained the same to me. This meaning was basically, “Trust the Lord, don’t think you understand. In everything you do, think of God and then He will make His plans succeed.”

But that morning, as we read together, God gave it new meaning tome, simply because of what was going on in my heart and mind. Have you ever read Bible verses over and over and it’s not until something happens in your life that suddenly the Lord breathes anew on that verse and you understand it in a whole different light?

This time, as I read the words “In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight,” my new understanding was this: If you acknowledge God in everything you do, if you think of Him while being tempted, and you acknowledge that He truly is right there beside you, simply remembering His presence will help you step away from that sin, and in stepping away from sin, the result will be that God makes your path straighter.

There are many verses in Scripture concerning paths we can have.
First, there are the straight paths. (These paths are very good!)

  • Proverbs 3:6
    In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight.
  • Jeremiah 31:9
    I will make them walk by streams of waters, On a straight path in which they will not stumble
  • Hebrews 12:13
    Make straight paths for your feet, so that the limb which is lame may not be put out of joint, but rather be healed.

We can follow dark paths, or, walk paths of light!

  • Psalm 119:105
    Your word is a lamp to my feet, and a light to my path.

There is the path of life, (God’s path) which the righteous follow.

  • Psalm 16:11
    You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.
  • Psalm 23:3
    He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

Then, there are the paths of sinners.

  • Psalm 1:1
    How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked, Nor stand in the path of sinners, Nor sit in the seat of scoffers!
  • Psalm 17:4
    As for the deeds of men, by the word of Your lips I have kept from the paths of the violent.
  • Proverbs 2:15
    Whose paths are crooked, And who are devious in their ways;
  • Proverbs 4:14
    Do not enter the path of the wicked And do not proceed in the way of evil men.

And, God knows your path!

  • Psalm 139:3
    You scrutinize my path and my lying down, And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.
  • Psalm 142:3
    When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, You knew my path.
  • Proverbs 5:21
    For the ways of a man are before the eyes of the LORD, And He watches all his paths.

See what I mean? May you acknowledge God’s presence in all of your ways and may He guard you from sin because of His loving and strong presence!

Leave your mark!

