In response to the question I asked you last week, “What is a powerful prophecy for you in the Bible,” I’m going to give my own opinion!

My favorite prophecy in the Bible is found in Revelation 21 & Isaiah 60. It is a short description of part of our future life in the heavenly Jerusalem.

I saw no temple in it, for the Lord God the Almighty and the Lamb are its temple. And the city has no need of the sun or of the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God has illumined it, and its lamp is the Lamb. The nations will walk by its lights, and the kings of the earth will bring their glory into it. In the daytime (for there will be no night there) its gates will never be closed; and they will bring the glory and the honor of the nations into it…” (Revelation 21:22-26).

& here is the corresponding Scripture in Isaiah 60:19

No longer will you have the sun for light by day, Nor for brightness will the moon give you light; But you will have the LORD for an everlasting light, And your God for your glory.”

Wow. Take a moment and picture that! I cannot imagine the pure beauty of light being only from God! We won’t need the sun or lamps or the moon or candles or light bulbs! No, the only light we need will come straight from the glory of God and the Lamb (Jesus Christ!) Have you ever noticed references to God being as “light” throughout the Bible? Turns out that this is not only symbolic talk–it’s fact and we will see it in the New Jerusalem!

Let me share a couple of examples:

  •  “God is light, and in Him there is no darkness at all” (1 John 1:5)
  • Your Word is a lamp to my feet, and a light to my path” (Psalm 119:105)
  • For You light my lamp, the Lord my God illumines my darkness” (Psalm 18:28)
  • The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?” (Psalm 27:1)

 

Simply beautiful.

 

Next week’s question:
http://growinginjesus.polldaddy.com/s/what-s-your-favorite-book-of-the-bible-why?iframe=1

Leave your mark!

