I remember growing up and wanting to hear God’s voice. I didn’t know what He sounded like though, so I was not even sure what I was looking for! I’m sure many people can sympathize with that. I always thought that God must be able to speak to people today, after all, He did it with so many people in the Bible! I remember one day specifically, sitting in my closet, late at night, begging God to tell me what He wants me to do with “my life.” (See also “How to Know God’s Will”). I tried so hard to listen; I was looking for very clear words. Oh, I wish I had known what to look for then! People told me, “If you ask hard enough, He will tell you!” But no one ever told me what He sounds like!

Here is what even to this day I think I heard God say:

Worship.”

At that time, I didn’t know (and I still don’t!) what exactly He meant by that. He could have meant, “Worship me now, you don’t need to know.” Or, He could have meant, “I want you to be a worship leader.” And I still don’t know which He meant! But as time has gone on, I think that He does have a calling for me to be a worshipper, but that’s only one part of the huge plan He has for my life!

But God has spoken in so many ways! Hebrews 1:1 says, “God, after He spoke long ago to the fathers in the prophets in many portions and in many ways.” The same is true in my life! The first record I have of Him speaking to me was through a song when I was upset that I didn’t get a role in the high school musical.

January 7, 2004

Thanks for using work to get my mind off of the musical. I am definitely not happy with the choice. I have to live with that I guess. You are funny with the songs You play for me to hear just at the right time! “Don’t worry, be happy” You know how to make me smile. So thank You… In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

This may seem vague at times, but God knows what will cheer our hearts because “God knows your hearts” (Luke 16:15) and “God is greater than our hearts” (1 John 3:20).

Ask Him to speak to you today in a way you can understand!
More on this next week Wednesday!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Learning God’s Voice #1

    1. Hi Irea.
      Thank you for commenting. The verse you chose is one of many about prophets, however it is not the type of prophecy we are talking about here. Here we learn how to hear the God of Jesus Christ correctly, and we are not teaching about false gods. May God bless you with understanding!

      Jennifer

Leave your mark!

