In the past years, as my husband and I have just been starting out, we have found that God truly does know and understand our every need and desire. Yesterday, I was half thinking, half praying, and I realized that the Lord provides in so many ways. He does not limit His provision to what we ask for, nor does He only deliver it in the way we expect Him to. So often my husband and I request that He does something in a particular way– usually because that’s the only solution we see at that time.

The first time the Lord taught me about this was when I was 15 years old, desperately wanting a video camera to record with at my last week of camp ever. I immediately began praying for the money to buy one within the week. (I didn’t give God a whole lot of time, did I? Haha.)

I scoured the newspaper ads and I looked in every spare corner of the house for money. I even tried pooling my resources with my oldest brother. But in the natural, well, it just did NOT look like it was going to happen. Little did I know that God had other plans. He knew what I wanted; He knew how I wanted it. But He can provide it in other ways, thank goodness!

A few days went by, and my dad’s company had a gathering at a minor league baseball game. I went, and found they were giving away free items…My earthly father also knew of my desire for a video camera, and when it came his turn to choose an item, I bet you can guess which one he choose! I never expected to get a free video camera!

[Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the LORD; And He will give you the desires of your heart.”]
[Matthew 7:11: “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him!”]

In the same way, now when we need something, the Lord provides it for us in so many different ways! We can never know what His next move will be. He even knows our needs before we do! It’s like He has this perfect timetable that makes Him continually prepared for what is going to come next in the lives of His children!

And God doesn’t do this with only us! Let me show you an example from the Word!

Jesus taught this: “But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will He not much more clothe you? You of little faith! Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all of these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” (Matthew 6:30-33)

Does anyone remember that the Israelites wandered in the desert for 40 years? To live in a desert you need some things, right? Clothes? Food? Water? After they left their servanthood in Egypt, they were completely in God’s hands! When they first got out in the desert, the people complained to Moses that he brought them out there just to die of hunger (see Exodus 16:3)! They expected and desired meat and onions and garlic, but what did God provide?

When the layer of dew evaporated, behold, on the surface of the wilderness there was a fine flake-like thing, fine as the frost on the ground. When the sons of Israel saw it, they said to one another, “What is it?” For they did not know what it was. And Moses said to them, “It is the bread which the LORD has given you to eat.” (Exodus 16:14-15)

God gave them bread from heaven, which they named “Manna” which meant, “What is it?” And they ate that manna for 40 years! (see Exodus 16:35)

And clothes? Deuteronomy 8:4 explains just how God provided them with clothing while they wandered for 40 years.

“ Your clothing did not wear out on you, nor did your foot swell these forty years.

And drink? Water was also supernaturally provided, too, out of a rock! Exodus 17:6  “Behold, I will stand before you there on the rock at Horeb; and you shall strike the rock, and water will come out of it, that the people may drink.

So not only does God provide for me and my family with supernatural and unexpected means, He has done this throughout time! Praise God for all of His provisions–and for His promises that we will not lack anything:

  • Psalm 23:1The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.”
  • Psalm 34:10The young lions do lack and suffer hunger, but they who seek the Lord shall not be in want of any good thing.”

If you are in need, tell God. He can provide for your every need–and He already knows how He will do it!

Leave your mark!

